Homemade Laundry Soap

Homemade Laundry Soap

 

Money Saving!  Money Saving!!   It’s a hobby of mine!  This is a HUGE ONE for me.  With a family of 9 doing laundry is constant!!  I’m talking about at least 2 or 3 loads a day….sometimes more. (everyday!!!)  So laundry soap can really add up!  

Depending on the brand you use whether name brand or off brand…..it adds up!  This recipe is something I’ve used for around 3 years now.  And boy have I have saved a ton of money!  It’s costs me roughly $2.00 to make a huge 5 gallon bucket of detergent.  

Now let me add…it did take time to get used to.  It doesn’t  LOOK or FEEL like your regular detergent, but what I can tell you it DOES clean your clothes.  I have some messy kids (and husband) and it really does clean.  

I’m the kind of person who really doesn’t like to do extra if I don’t have to *grin* so when it comes to making this detergent…I was like “I don’t need one more thing to do”  ya know?    But it’s VERY SIMPLE and I’ve made it so many times it’s pretty quick and easy and simple to do.  (Especially if you have your kids grate the soap…..ha ha ha he he!)  

Here is what you need:

  • 5 gallon bucket with lid
  • 1 cup of Borax
  • 1 cup of Arm & Hammer Washing soda (not baking soda)
  • 1 bar of Fels-Naptha soap ( or Ivory soap)
  • water
  • cheese grater 

Here’s how you do it…..

  1.  Grate up the Fels-Naptha soap just like you would cheese.  (it will actually look like cheese)
  2. Boil water in a big pot and slowly add the sprinkles of the soap, slowly stirring as it melts
  3. Continue until you have melted the whole bar.
  4. Pour the melted soap water into a 5 gallon bucket
  5. Fill up bucket with water as you add in the next 2 ingredients (keep stirring)
  6. Add one cup of borax (stir)
  7. Add one cup of washing soda
  8. Fill bucket with water while you stir until it almost reaches the top.
  9. Put lid on the top of the bucket and let it sit until the next day.

 This will give it a chance to gel up.  You can either pour into a smaller container (save one of your old laundry soap containers)  Or do like I do…..I just scoop out about 3/4 cup to 1 cup of soap per load.   

This is what it looks like after it gels

This is what it looks like after it gels

*With this recipe you can also add essential oils like lavender or another scent of your choice.  This is something I don’t do, but it’s up to you and your preference.  

If you enjoyed this money saving recipe….. why not “pin it” or share it!

Homemakers Challenge

This entry was posted in Homemaking, Recipes, Ways to Save Money and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Homemade Laundry Soap

  1. sexdate says:

    hello u have a interesting weblog. I wanna say thanks for publishing this cool articles with us. Keep up good job.

    Like

  2. Anna G says:

    Hi, I just wanted to know does the homemade laundry detergent produce any suds when washing.

    Like

    • Jennifer says:

      no it doesn’t Anna….but it really does clean cloths! I’ve been using it now for almost 4 years! I wash about 3 or 4 loads a day and we love saving the money!

      Like

      • Anna G says:

        Thanks. i made some and i love it, your right it does clean them, and has a fresh cleansing smell as well. My husband was so proud of me. I’m a mom of 5 and loving caring for my home to the glory of God:)

        Like

  3. Leanne says:

    Just found your site and am enjoying it. Do you use this in a front loader washer? Does it work fine? I am guessing so since there are no suds, but still curious. I am going to try this, I was going to pick up more detergent this weekend @ $7.50 for about 45 loads….this sounds great!!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Large Family Laundry Tips - The Purposeful Mom

  5. Meagan says:

    Can you use this in a HE front load washing machine? It has the pull out tray for detergent would I put it in there or in with the clothes?

    Like

    • Jennifer says:

      I don’t have a front loader but I have one that you have to dispense into the machine first before you can start the machine and it works just fine. Just make sure it is stirred really well, no clumps! Hope that helps. Let me know how it turns out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

