10 Ways to Save Money at Home

 

moneyEdited

Searching for ways to save money is like a game for me…..I don’t know about you, but I LOVE to save money and find a great bargain!  It doesn’t matter your family size or income, it is really a wise thing for us women to look for ways to pinch penny’s where you can.  For me it’s fun and I enjoy adding up the savings. 

 Here in this household, we live off of one income and we are feeding and raising 7 children.  I can’t help but look for ways to save a buck or two.  There are many creative ways to make things stretch and help the budget…..but these are 10 ways I have found that works for us.  Check them out…..   (I didn’t put them in any particular order)

 10 Money-Saving tips for any household

1. Coupons.coupons

Now I’m not an extreme coupon-er but any means but I will clip coupons of things that I use on a regular basis.  I used to get the newspaper but now I have someone at my church give me the ones they don’t need.  Look for coupons on line that you can print out, find someone you can exchange with, etc.  Treat them like money…  : ) 

2.Thrift Stores.  http://media.parentsociety.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/thrift-store.jpg

This is a super fun one for me (and my whole family actually).  You’d be surprised at the nice stuff you can find gently used and sometimes still with the original tag!  (even name brand clothing) Also look for ½ price days at thrift stores, to score an even bigger savings.  From jackets, shoes, snow boots, skirts, shirts…you can find just about anything you need.  When clothing growing children…this is a wonderful way to pinch pennies. 

3.Cutting hair at home.        

Now this one may scare of few of you, but I learned how to cut mens/boys hair when we were still in Bible College from an ex-marine and after a few tries I got the hang of it.  When you add up the cost of haircuts per month…it adds up quickly.  Trimming up my girls hair is also easy to do (when they are smaller).  Just add up the cost of a hair cut anywhere from $10 to $20….so it’s money in your pocket!  

 4. Make my own laundry soap.Homemade Laundry Soap

It is very simple and there are 3 ingredients but it only costs about $2.00 to make a big 5 gallon bucket of soap.  It comes in very handy for the at least 3 loads of day I do! Here is the recipe.    Here is also another recipe for homemade dishwasher detergent HERE

  1. Accept hand-me-downs.

Wow…I can’t tell you what a blessing these are!  We love going through bags that were given to us and we find a lot of useful things.  I will also reciprocate to others as well and give to another family that may need them.  It’s wonderful how God provides through simple things….and stretches the budget too. 

  1. Cook at home.

I know many of you are saying “well I already do that.” There are many who eat out a number of times through out the week and don’t really count the cost of it.  Remember it’s healthy and cheaper to eat at home.  From time to time it’s nice to treat yourself, but 9 times out of 10 we are cooking at home. 

  1. Hang out laundry.laundry

Ugh!  I know.  It does require more work, but boy does it help on the electric bill.  (and it helps in the exercise department  Ha ha)  I know this one isn’t going to work for everyone since some live in a apartment or deed-restricted development, but you can find creative ways to hang a few things up on drying racks or even in your basement. 

  1. Buy “gifts” on clearance.

I’m always looking at clearance racks buying ahead of time for birthdays, Christmas, special occasions, or even clothing for the next season in a bigger size!  Just a side note….if you buy items a head of time, try putting them in a storage tote or a closet where you won’t forget where they are.  ( This is coming from experience)  *wink* 

  1. Plant a garden.garden

There is nothing like planting your own vegetables and after a long summer being able to eat your harvest!  Things tastes so much better and usually we have enough for our family, enough to share with others AND then we can them for the winter. 

  1. Look for “free” deals.

This is part of the fun.  There are many “free” deals out there if you are looking for them.  Search the internet, ask around, check your newspaper, etc.  There are so many things we have done as a family just buy going on the right day or asking around.  From museums to water ice to even Red Robbin burgers!  Yum!

These are ways that I save money at my home, I know some of them may not fit your family.  But if you are looking for ways to stretch a dollar and pinch a penny you’ll find them and make it fun while you’ll doing it! 

Do you have any money savings things you do?  If so…share….I love to hear what other do.  Don’t forget to “pin it” or share it!

 

TheBetterMom.com

This entry was posted in Home, Homemaking, Ways to Save Money and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 10 Ways to Save Money at Home

  1. Sandy says:

    Love the article. Love the things about saving money…TY

    Like

  2. KC says:

    I grab every opportunity I have to save money. These tips are awesome. I use coupons too and taking advantage of hand-me-downs. They say they’re cheap, I say more savings for me. Why buy a new one when the one you have is still serving its purpose right?

    Like

    • Jennifer says:

      I agree….my kids can go through clothes so quickly either by out growing them OR by wearing them out. So buying used is great!!!

      Like

  3. Rachel says:

    One thing I do is to not buy anything disposable except toilet paper 🙂 So no paper towels, napkins, paper plates, diapers, baby wipes etc..I use all cloth instead. I am working on phasing out Ziploc bags too and replacing them with reusable bags. There is an upfront initial cost but after that it is just money in your pocket and you are also helping the environment.

    Like

    • Jennifer says:

      That is great to hear! I’ve looked into rags for paper towel (we do that some) but will be looking to phasing them out as well. Thanks for letting me know how you save money! Great ideas!

      Like

  4. Those are great tips and I did most of them while raising our 7 children. Thanks so much for sharing about this.

    Like

  5. Yuliya says:

    Great tips! We don’t coupon, but I wish we could 🙂 I live in the Netherlands and coupons pretty much do not exist here. However, we do shop at the local market for fresh produce, which offers not only way more choice, but fresher and cheaper options, too!

    I also love that you say to hang out laundry. This is really common here, and we don’t even own a dryer. I love hanging clothes outside to dry in the summertime, but in the winter, it can get a bit annoying because we hang dry indoors and it takes longer.

    I also like to save on electricity by keeping everything unplugged unless we are using it. It actually leads to quite a bit of savings throughout the year.

    Like

  6. Gail Akeman says:

    All good ideas to save money.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Mom 2 Mom Monday Link-Up! - The Purposeful Mom

  8. Pingback: Mom 2 Mom Monday Link Up #6 - The Purposeful Mom

Leave a Reply

