My afternoon with Kelly Bates

Kellyandme3

WOW!  A true dream come true for me!

It’s funny I’m not at all a t.v. watcher!  Anyone who really knows me or lives with me, knows I don’t really like t.v.  but 2 families I like to watch (when I do sit down in front of the t.v.) is the Duggars and the Bates.  They really are inspirational and I admire them for living out their faith in real life and on their show.

My family recently took a long road trip and we had the opportunity to see many people and go to many of different sights!   One in particular was an afternoon visit with Kelly Bates and her family!

Let me first say…..It was truly an honor to be invited to their house and have the time to talk with them personally about many different things.

I’m sure just as I question while watching a show, you may wonder….do these people really act like this in “real life”?   Or what would it be like to ask them questions face to face?

I’ve said many of times after watching the show….”Wow, I would love to sit down with her and just absorb what I can”, who would of known I would have been given that opportunity.  God has a way of working details out and for us…..He did just that!

Let me say that this family IS the real deal.  Watching them in action as they fixed a meal, cleaning up and helped each other doing various task was just a learning lesson for me.  I took the moments to really absorb it all.  Now let me add….no family is perfect or have it all together, but you know when you are talking with people who genuinely love the Lord and they are leading their children to do the same.

Batesfamily1

Gil and Kelly with myself and my husband

Kelly is just as sweet and inviting as you may have seen her on the t.v.  I listened intently as she shared her heart and testimony and how God has walked her through where she is now.  What I’ve gleaned from this is,  we as Christian woman and mothers, if we truly trust God to lead in all areas of our life, God will use us and stretch us to where He wants us to be.   God is looking for willing vessels to be clean and ready to show Himself through our lives.

I know I’m not the mother I used to be 16 years ago and that is the same with Kelly.  When we allow God to mold and make us into His image than God gets the glory!   We should always be open to growing closer to the Lord and allow God to stretch our faith as we become more obedient to Him.

I also learned that things just go smoother when you are relaxed and joyful!  Kelly has a spirit about her that is very relaxed (though all that goes on around the house) but has such a joy in her heart when she talks and interacts with her family.   That really does set the tone for any family of any size.   These qualities don’t just happen over night.  It takes time…..and a close walk with the Lord.

This afternoon was a highlight to my trip,( a memory I will cherish) and I don’t at all take it for granted that God allowed me and my family to spend the afternoon with such a loving, giving, and Christ-like family!   It’s great to know that there are other families that God is using as they are living out their faith and being an example to SO MANY others.

The Bates House

The Bates House

This entry was posted in Home, Mom Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to My afternoon with Kelly Bates

  1. Wow, what a cool opportunity! Once in a lifetime for sure. We once sent a package to the Duggars and I got a thank you from Michele just a few days later–right after she had their 18th baby! Such a kind and thoughtful person!

    I was also double-checking to see if you’ve gotten my past couple of emails. I know sometimes my emails end up being found in people’s spam so I don’t want you to think I’ve forgotten about you!

    Like

    • Jennifer says:

      Yes, it was SUPER cool. We were standing in their house just trying to soak it all in. Let alone to talk to them one on one and hear their personal testimonies. Such humble and loving, and giving people! That is awesome Michelle wrote back. I’m sure as busy as she is…taking time to express thanks…says a lot! Thanks for writing me back!

      Like

  2. DonnaJ says:

    How nice to witness that they are “real” people and live what they portray or the public. Thanks for sharing ~ we love to watch the shows also!

    Like

  3. Marsha says:

    Oh how wonderful. Both the Duggars and the Bates have been an inspiration in both my faith and parenting walks. I would so love to meet them both. What wonderful, godly women the Lord has given to us!

    Like

    • Jennifer says:

      Yes, Marsha, I appreciate the families and other women that we can learn from. They are an example in every area of their life!

      Like

  4. Kelli says:

    What a great opportunity. I hope to meet them and the Duggars someday. I love to watch their shows and feel so inspired after seeing them live out their faith. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  5. Jennifer…what a blessing to meet the Bates and have an afternoon to share with them. I do enjoy watching them and the Duggars…families not afraid to walk the walk and talk the talk. Both families offer much encouragement in living out their faith in all they do and say. Thank you for sharing your story. This is my first visit here. Have a blessed rest of the week.

    Like

    • Jennifer says:

      I couldn’t agree with you more! I appreciate you stopping by and reading. I look forward to visiting your blog as well! Blessings!

      Like

  6. Tara says:

    Found your post through modest mom. That is so great that you spent an afternoon with the Bates! I feel the same way… we don’t watch much tv in our home…only the Bates and the Duggars. My daughter is 2 and actually chooses those shows over anything! 🙂 Both families are such an inspiration to me. Hope to meet them too one day. Have a great day!

    Like

    • Jennifer says:

      Thanks for visiting. That is really neat your daughter asks to watch them at two. Kids learn so much….and it’s great to be learning from such a great family! Blessings!

      Like

  7. Rachael DeBruin says:

    What an honour to be able to meet their family in person! Great pic of you guys 🙂

    Like

  8. Hi Jennifer,
    Like you I don’t watch that much TV, but when I did have cable back then I caught a few episodes of the Duggers. As I vaguely remembered, the Bates were the Duggers family friends. I had images of the Duggers helping this one family worked on an extension to their house. It might have been the Bates. Pretty cool families. Glad to hear that they’re real. Thanks for linking up with me. Hope you’ll come link up again next week. Blessings!

    Like

  9. hcg drops says:

    Nice. Thanks for posting that. I’ll definitely check here to read more and inform my people about your site.

    Like

  10. Jessica says:

    Wow! What an awesome opportunity! I don’t watch much tv either, but I definitely love the Bates and the Duggars! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  11. Ashley S says:

    Wow, what an experience! It is good to know that they actually live life that way. Such an encouragement! Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Like

  12. Enjoyed reading this! What a fun opportunity! Is the Bates house the same as the Duggars??

    I had the privilige to meet Michelle and talk to her on the phone a few times many, many years ago before she was a household name. She was just as sweet and real then as she is now! 🙂

    Like

  13. Julia says:

    Wow! that is so fun! ❤

    Like

  14. Joanne Viola says:

    What a fun experience. So glad you shared about it! Visiting from Faith Filled Fri. Have a great weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

