My Pinterest Find Before & After

Source

Source

Most of us find ourselves on it.   It’s a place to find ideas, get inspired, learn new recipes, update our fashion, and of course Do-it-yourself everything!

Well, I have “pinned” a few things (well more than a few…but who’s counting) and there are some things that you just wonder, “Does this REALLY work?”

Today I did an experiment with our back door…..WOW!   It really needed some help!  From two dogs (at one time we had three) and kids running in and out….it was REALLY in bad shape.   Scratches galore, nicks, etc.  Just plain embarrassing!  (I’m ashamed we neglected it for this long)

I tripped a cross this “pin” that clams all you need is canola oil and vinegar.  That is something I had right in the kitchen so I thought I would give it a whirl (it sure couldn’t make it worse) and this is how it turned out.

Be warned…..the before pic is pretty embarrassing, but hey it’s real life around here! (click on pic to enlarge it)

door2

 Now, it didn’t totally get rid of the big scratches that are super deep, but it really made a world of a difference.   As you can see it evened things out and it looks a bit more presentable than before.

Here what I used:

  • 3/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup vinagar

That’s it!  Now I’m sure a little sanding and buffing the door would help with the deeper scratches (or just go buy a new one)  BUT over all it’s a quick improvement that didn’t cost but pennies and about 5 to 10 minutes of my time.   Here is the “PIN” I found this out.

Now it’s time for YOU to share……Tell me of a “Pin” that you tried and just love.    Was it a cleaning product?  A craft?  A recipe?    Organizational project?     Let me hear your stories and things you’ve tried!

This entry was posted in Home, Mom Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

