Are you Spiritually getting dressed?

Spirituallygettingdressed

Source

Each morning we all get up and get dressed for the day.  Well, there are some days it doesn’t happen until noon if we are a busy mom, but for the most part, we all get up and put a little thought into what we are going to wear for the day.

If it’s cold, we dress warm.  If it’s hot, we dress cooler.  Even for weddings, funerals, church…..we take time to pick out the “right” outfit to look appropriate.

Here is something to think about?   Are we getting “Spiritually Dressed“?    You may be wondering what is “Spiritually Dressed“?

In Colossians 3: 12-15 we are given guidance by Apostle Paul about “Spiritually Dressing”.   It says,   “Put on therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, bowels of mercies, kindness, humbleness of mind, meekness, longsuffering; 13 Forbearing one another, and forgiving one another, if any man have a quarrel against any: even as Christ forgave you, so also do ye.  14 And above all these things put on charity, which is the bond of perfectness.  15 And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to the which also ye are called in one body; and be ye thankful.

If we took the time to go through each of these.  Pretend you are getting dressed with putting these characteristics on each day.

Modestdress1

source

Let’s go through them briefly and ask yourself if your putting these on every day in the morning?

  • Mercy-  Are we showing mercy towards others?  Towards our family?  Towards others we have contact with?
  • Kindness-  This one sounds easy  but are we showing kindness to our own family?  To our kids?  It’s so easy sometimes being kind to others when they are kind to you, but what about the unkind people?  Your enemies?
  • Humbleness-  Do we display a humbleness about ourself?  Do we have pockets of pride that need to be purged?
  • Meekness-  How’s our attitude?  Is it quiet and meek?  Are we abrupt and callause with others?
  • Longsuffering- Do we extend patience with our kids, our family, with someone who has wronged us?
  • Forbearing one another-  Are we putting aside our agenda of revenge on someone?  Trying to “get back” at a family member or friend?  Let God fight your battles.
  • Forgiving spirit-  Are we someone who easily forgives?  Do we take awhile to let someone off the hook?  Remember forgiveness frees US, not the other person.
  • Charity (love)-  Do others see love coming from your life?  Do you show love to your family, as well as someone we don’t particularly like?

Now I am normal just like everyone else.  There are days when we forget to get dressed spiritually.  We forget the kindness, we forget the love, we forget to be humble….it happens to all of us!  I have many of days where I just neglect these things and my family are the ones who get the brunt of it.   Ugly, I know but it’s the truth.

We need to be mindful each and every morning.

Each morning, we need to make a mental note as we get dressed and remind ourselves to “Spiritually”  get dressed.   Let’s put on each of these qualities and characteristics.   Our children need to see it,….. our husbands need to see it,….. the people we come into contact need to see it!

Remember it’s not always easy getting “spiritually” dressed when we do it in our strength and our power.   We need to tap into God’s power and put on the mind of Christ.  That take lots of prayer, lots of digging into His Word, and  a daily conscience effort to become more like Christ.

What are you getting dressed into?   Do you remember to put your “spiritual” clothes on?

 

 

 

This entry was posted in encouragement, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Are you Spiritually getting dressed?

  1. Thank you for the post…as I read through the items, I was convicted since there are more than a couple pieces that I always forget to put on…have a blessed day!

    Like

  2. Misty Boone says:

    What a beautiful reminder that we need to be getting dressed each morning spiritually as well. Thank you.

    Like

  3. Ceil says:

    Hi Jennifer! I am coming over from Monday Musings.

    How clever to make this like ‘getting dressed’! And all the pieces sound so much like the Fruits of the Spirit, don’t they? I am sure that I have gone out for the day without a piece or two of these (how embarrassing!), and it’s a good thing that you remind us all how necessary they are.

    Thanks for being a mercy to me today!
    Ceil

    Like

  4. Lisa says:

    This is a good reminder, and it makes me think of putting on the whole armor of God every morning. Being clothed with humility is one of the most important – and most difficult – things we can do! But The Lord is gracious, and full of compassion and mercy.

    Thank you!

    Like

  5. Joanne Viola says:

    Enjoyed this post. Especially because I also wrote on the subject of what we wear today. A different direction as God speaks to us all differently yet similar 🙂 Love that He works that way. I was your neighbor at Teach Me Tues.
    Have a great day,
    Joanne

    Like

  6. Linda says:

    Wow! this is a convicting post. Pricked my heart. I am guilty too often of throwing any old thing on, physical clothing as well as spiritual clothing. I’ll be meditating on this for a while, thank you!

    Like

  7. Kelsey says:

    Great reminder and wonderfully timed as I hear the fussy complaints of the toddler and baby waking up at the same time in the next room. Time to start my day of motherhood with patience and kindness… Here we go! 🙂 Thanks for writing, Jennifer!
    ~Kelsey

    Like

  8. Jenifer says:

    YES! Love this!

    Thanks for linking up to Woman to Woman’s Word Filled Wednesday! God bless!

    Jenifer

    Like

  9. Shannon says:

    Hi Jennifer,
    Your post was linked before mine on Thrive @ Home. I’m glad because I needed reminded of this today. It’s been a busy week and one of those mornings where everything that can go wrong has gone wrong, so this was timely!
    Personally, I think it helps to get spiritually dressed when time in the Word and in prayer happens in the morning. This is the one thing that really helps me “put on” these characteristics.
    It’s a good thing we have a fresh start each day to get dressed in them again!

    Like

  10. This is wonderful, Jennifer! I love the visual of getting spiritually dressed. I have made it a priority to get up early and study my Bible, but it can easily just become a routine without real purpose if I’m not careful…. and I can end up spiritually naked…. I really love your thoughts here. It has convicted my heart and given me lots to think about!

    Like

  11. Tiffany Dawn says:

    Great analogy. I love taking real life examples and finding a great truth in them. I actually post a series called Simple Truths From Simple Stuff which is dedicated to doing that.

    I think one thing that can hold us back from getting spiritually dressed is the time it takes – just like really getting dressed! Sometimes we’re in a rush and we just throw on whatever. But having our Spirit right is so much more important than what we wear and it really doesn’t have to be a long process. Just a quick request to the Spirit to dress us in His attributes would be a great start, so thanks for the idea and the encouragement.

    Like

  12. Pingback: Wednesday Link Party

  13. Kasey says:

    This is a TERRIFIC post! We talk often about adorning ourselves modestly but that is not equal with spiritual adornment. Thank you for a fresh perspective! I featured this at my link-up this week!

    Like

    • Jennifer says:

      Thank you Kasey! I appreciate your kind words…..and it’s something I need to remind myself of EVERYDAY!!! I even have it taped to my mirror! Blessings to you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

