Practical Homemaking Skills I wish I had known…

I am not blaming my lack of knowledge on my child hood or on my parents but it would have helped greatly to have been taught few things before I set out on my own. I got married when I was 18 years old. At the time I felt as if I were ready to tackle the world but looking back now I see that I was nothing more than a young, immature child that had no idea of how to really make it in this world. I am sure there were times when my mother may have attempted to teach me some sort of homemaking skill but it wasn’t enough for me to catch on to. It is quite possible that she was met with a teenager who thought she already knew it all and didn’t need to be taught but either way I was ill prepared to be a wife, mother and homemaker. Homemaking has to be taught. It is not a job that just comes naturally.
I grew up on a farm with my parents and three older brothers. My dad worked a full time job and until I was in middle school my mother stayed home. We had animals of all kinds and we raised gardens (many gardens). From these gardens we froze and canned much of our food. My mother stayed busy cleaning the house, cooking for her family and helping with the farm duties. I am sure that by the time she finished with her daily tasks, made supper, helped all of us with our homework, made sure we were all bathed and got our clothes ready for the next day she was tired and probably the last thing on her mind was to teach me how to wash a load of laundry.
Here are a few things I wish I had known when I got married. Most of these are skills that my mother did very well each and every day. The problem was, her doing them – didn’t teach me.
How to cook. Macaroni and cheese and spaghetti made from a jar of sauce were my specialities. Today Homemade Spaghetti Sauce is all my family will eat.
How to do laundry. I had to read the instructions on the lid of the washing machine to even know how to wash a load of our dirty clothes. It’s kind of crazy to think that today I even make my own Homemade Laundry Detergent considering where I started.
* How to be a Keeper of My Home. Basic Cleaning. I knew the house was supposed to stay clean but had no idea how to do it. I had zero practical skills for cleaning a house.
* Changing Sheets. How often are you supposed to change sheets? Ahem. I will spare you the gross details of how long I allowed dirty sheets to stay on our bed.
Ironing. Isn’t that what the dryer and a damp wash cloth are for?
We didn’t live in a pig stye. Our home was cleaned daily but that was something she did when we were away at school. We came home and the house was tidy. Food was cooked. Bed sheets were changed. Clothes were clean. I didn’t see a whole lot of the “behind the scenes” to homemaking. Dear Precious Moms, don’t assume that because your children see you doing your daily homemaking tasks that they are learning how to do them. Take the time to teach them. I have been married over 17 years now and how to be a homemaker is something I am still learning each day.
How about you? Were you taught homemaking skills as a child? And are you teaching your children these basic skills now?
Jen_Profile_ContributorJen is a Christian, Submitted-Wife in training, Stay-At-Home Mom  and Homemaker striving daily to be who God has called her to be. She is married to her best friend, a maintenance man that can build or fix anything.  Together they have 2 amazing teenage sons they are training to be mighty men of God.  While she doesn’t claim to be an expert or have it all together Jennifer blogs about all things near and dear to her heart at “A Heart For My Home” including Christian life, marriage, parenting, finances, organization, recipes and more.
 Proverbs 14:1 says The wise woman builds her house, but with her own hands the foolish one tears hers down.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Practical Homemaking Skills I wish I had known…

  1. Sharon says:

    Hi! I’m Sharon, and this post SPOKE TO MY HEART!! I have been trying to get a better grip on being a home maker, I started my family very young and, 10 years later, im still struggling. I was not guided or taught on how to do hardly anything when it comes to being a mom, a wife, a lady, a homemaker. my mom was not a very good house keeper, at all. and to this day, I struggle with figuring everything out. Thank you for your post!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

