Is it really worth it?

dreary2

source

If you are a mom you know THOSE days.    The ones where nothing goes right, you repeat yourself 1,000 times, you are correcting the kids for the same thing you just corrected them the day before, it feels like no one is listening!   It’s at that time you slump down in the chair or hide in the bathroom and tears well up in your eyes and these thoughts start jumping in.

“Is this really worth it?”

“Am I really making a difference?”

“I’m a failure of a mom!”

Well, I just had one of those days the other week.  (not that it’s the 1st one)  But this day was just magnified.  Everything was going wrong and it felt like all my teaching, correcting, and instructions is just going out the window.

Have you ever felt like this as a mom?   Days were you feel like your children are NOT “getting it”?   Well I’m hear to say “Don’t lose heart mom!” (gotta read what happened before bed time)

Let me speed up to later that evening in the story.   After our Wednesday night kids program at church I get all the kids home and I finally sit down and try to unwind.   And one of my sons who is 8 years old, comes up to me and says, “Mom, I’ve been thinking a lot about things lately and I was looking for the right time to talk to you.”   And this caught me by surprise.   He’s not usually this serious.

So we sit down together and start talking and he says, “Mom I’ve been thinking about what you’ve been teaching me about God dying on the cross and about how to go to heaven and I want to do that tonight.”

My thoughts were REALLY-is this really happening? WOW!!!!  All these weeks and months I was thinking he wasn’t listening to me.  It was going in one ear and out the other but it really was seeds that were planted.   Now it was harvest time! There were tears of joy and I could almost feel God wrapping His arms around me, and just affirming me to Keep Going!

owen85

Owen right after he prayed and asked Jesus to come into his heart

Mom, if I could encourage you with one thing today it would be…….You are making a difference!!

Every tear wiped.   Every hug.   Every correction.  Every talk.   Every boo-boo kissed.  Every meal cooked.   Every teachable moment.   Every instruction.  Every reminder.  Every bad day.   Every good day.   You are making a difference!!!!

It may not feel like your getting anywhere some days.   It might feel like no one is listening or caring about what your saying but know that your efforts are not in vain.   Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye stedfast, unmoveable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord.”    I Corinthians 15:58

Sometimes as moms we want to see instant results.  I do at least!   We must be purposeful in our parenting!  But we all need to be reminded that the seeds we plant now……..Character building…….manners…….Christ’s Love……..how to be kind……..love……..morals……..Bible teachings……….etc.    You will see a harvest one day!    Keep planting,  keep watering, and know that the harvest is coming SOON!   Mom…..It is worth it!! 

 

This entry was posted in encouragement, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Is it really worth it?

  1. Such wonderful encouragement for ‘those’ days thank you so much for sharing. Your website is beautiful 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks so much for this encouragement, Jennifer! 🙂

    Like

  3. I think we all as parents have that moment where we feel like we have failed. Kids seem to always seem to find away to remind us that we are doing something right with there actions and words. Great post thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

