Mom, be patient your children will bloom one day

bloom2

After moving into our new house I planted a Crape Myrtle tree.  I just love the colors of them and I figured it would add some nice color to the front of our home.   Well, that was about 7 plus years ago!!

I’m not one for being super patient (did I just say that?)  Yes….it’s something I have to work on everyday.  But I wanted this tree to bloom in the worst way.  I couldn’t wait to see it bloomed and all the color it brings to summer time and our yard!

Well, let me tell you.  It did NOT bloom!  I mean years it did NOT bloom!  I literally almost gave up hope that I would ever see any buds or color or anything!

Then one day I looked out the window and there it was…… colorful flowers!  I really just about forgot about the tree because I was tired of waiting and watching.

11751372_10205566177167468_979527614_n

My Crape Myrtle finally bloomed!

You know this is so much like raising our children.   We turn the soil, plant the seeds, water them in our children’s lives and then we see nothing! 

We correct……we teach……we remind……we pray…..we cry somethings and it honestly feel like NOTHING happens.

Let me encourage you to continue to be patient.  Just the same with my Crape Myrtle, it seemed like it was never going to do anything, your children take time to develop too.  (Usually many, many years!)

Parenting is hard at times and wanting to see results instantly is very normal.  Parenting with a purpose is our goal.  We want to see obedience, good character, strong work ethics, kindness, self control etc.  They will come in time.  (Remember consistency is the key) And when it does….it is wonderful to see!

Right now in this season of parenting I have a wide range of ages under our roof.  From 19 years to 1 1/2 year old.   So I can now sit back and see all the hard work we put into our 19 year old daughter and see that it does pay off.  We are seeing her bloom and really come forth beautifully!

Me with my 19 year old daughter Emma

Me with my 19 year old daughter Emma

So Mom, if your there with little ones or even teenagers, keep pressing on planting those seeds, watering, and giving nutrients, because one day your children will bloom!

Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye stedfast, unmoveable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord.    I Corinthians 15:58

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mom, be patient your children will bloom one day

  1. unspeakablejoymccoy says:

    What a lovely post! I appreciate that encouragement about seeing our children bloom in time. Thank you for sharing your wisdom!

    Like

  2. Great post! So true…even after we are in heaven our prayers for our children and grandchildren will continue to be answered. Many blessings to you ❤️

    Like

  3. Amanda says:

    What a lovely blog! And this post is so very true! Visiting you from Tell it To me Tuesdays.

    Like

  4. Life Breath Present says:

    I love watching Baby Boy as he grows and learns. This is a good post and helpful reminder not to rush things as no matter what, he’ll ‘bloom’ or grow as he ages and matures 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

