One thing I did last year that was eye opening!

winter2

Near the end of 2014 I came a crossed a picture or maybe on Pinterest pin of something that caught my eye.  The concept was simple.  Seemed rather easy to do.  I thought to myself why not try it!  So I did!

I went and gathered my supplies.  Nothing fancy but a jar.  Some paper.  And a pen.  My kind of project easy!

Little did I know that this project was going to be something so eye opening for me (and my family)!

So what is this project I am talking about?   It was a blessings jar, I know I probably thought the same thing you are thinking right now too.

It’s really not that big of a deal but honestly it was!  For a whole year we as a family collected small pieces of paper (I liked to use the colorful designed papers) into a jar every time the Lord blessed us with something.

IMG_8186

Now this could of been a homemade meal prepared for us, free hand-me-downs, a new job, safety on the road on a big trip, unexpected money gift, even a bag of fish that someone caught and gave to our family, just anything that we wanted to remember.

As the year went on, I of course added things here and there and really forgot about all the things I was putting in there from time to time. I just wrote it down and didn’t open it unless I dropped another note in their.  (I actually didn’t do this every day, just on random occasions when something happened)

Well let me tell you how amazing it was to open up that jar at the end of the year and gather around as a family to read each slip of paper. It literally brought tears to my eyes to see SO MANY blessings that the Lord gave us in many different ways.

IMG_8209

Just a couple of “blessings” that were added.  There were many, many more!!

Some were through people, some through circumstances, & some were just common ordinary things we chose to write down.

If I could encourage you this year to do something as a family, this would be it!  Now you don’t have to have a jar, you can do it in a notebook or a box or whatever you have.   But taking the time to jot down the date and the event that happened or the unexpected blessing, you’ll be amazed at all of God’s goodness!

It’s also important for our children to remember and to see what God is doing.  Most of the time we are thankful for that moment but we truly forget all that He has done for us.

I’m reminded of that old hymn:

Count your blessings name them one by one…..Count your blessings see what God has done…..Count your blessings….name them one by one…..Count your many blessings see what God has done!

That is so SO true!  I encourage you to take time this year to document all the things through out the months that you are blessed with and you’ll be amazed at the end of year how many things God does for you!

And yes….we are doing another year of God’s blessings for 2016!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to One thing I did last year that was eye opening!

  1. Mother of 3 says:

    We set one up this year! There’s nothing in it yet but I finally set it up!

    Like

  2. JES says:

    What a great idea! Thank you for sharing this on the Art of Home-Making Mondays @ Strangers & Pilgrims on Earth 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a great idea! thank you!

    Like

  4. carolapv says:

    Wonderful idea for a family! I did something a little different one year, for Valentines day. I filled a jar with slips of paper listing reasons I was thankful for my husband. I named his gifts and strengths. It might have had a greater impact on me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

