A Secret “tool” that will improve your kids behavior

a-woman-holding-hand-of-child (1)If I told you there was a secret “tool” that will really improve your child’s behavior, would you believe me?  (well there is…..and you can find out below what this “tool” is) 

Well let me first start out by  saying…….I am NOT a professional in any way in the parenting field.  I’m just a regular mom that is trying to train and raise my children for the Lord. I can say I have almost 20 years of experience to the eight wonderful children God gave to my husband and I.   

Parenting one child or many children is down right difficult at times.  If you are a parent at any stage of life it all has it’s challenges.    Now, let me say though it is also the greatest blessing and the most  highest calling to raise children that God blesses you with.

As I mentioned before, I am on my 20th year of parenting and I still can’t believe it’s been that long!  Over the years of course you learn as you go and pick up parenting tips here and there especially through the Word of the God (your #1 tool) and you pick up many tips and tricks from other parents or from how you were raised.  Parenting is mentioned all through out the Bible and here are just a few of the familiar ones…..

Proverbs 22:6 – Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.

Ephesians 6:4 – And, ye fathers, provoke not your children to wrath: but bring them up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord.

Proverbs 29:15 – The rod and reproof give wisdom: but a child left [to himself] bringeth his mother to shame.

Proverbs 13:24 – He that spareth his rod hateth his son: but he that loveth him chasteneth him betimes.

Psalms 127:3 – Lo, children [are] an heritage of the LORD: [and] the fruit of the womb [is his] reward.

Colossians 3:21 – Fathers, provoke not your children [to anger], lest they be discouraged.

But one main ingredient besides prayer, training, teaching, setting a good example, character training, setting rules & guidelines is almost like a secret weapon in your child’s behavior.

You ready for it?  It’s called PRAISE!!!!     Yes…..Praise!  I have noticed over the years of parenting my little ones that giving your child praise during the day really builds them up and will improve their behavior.

20130525-100002 (1)

Sometimes in parenting we tend to ALWAYS focus on the negative.  We are constantly correcting and punishing or scolding and drawing attention to their bad behavior.

We easily forget to see all the things they do right!  I’m guilt of that myself.  I’ve got to remind myself to look for things they are doing and praise them for it!  Make a BIG deal over it when they share on their own, when they obey the 1st time, when you see kindness to their siblings, when they clean their room, etc.

It’s amazing to see when they hear the praise for doing good how much they want to continue doing it!  (I really don’t think they are much different then adults, do you?)  You know we as adults like to hear when we are doing a good job or someone notices your doing a good job.   So do they…..and it’s like fuel for good behavior.

Through out the day, make a conscience effort to look for what they are doing right and praise them!  When you see them making right choices big or small…..make a big deal of it and draw attention to that.    You soon will notice a big improvement with their behavior.

Here’s a little chart with 25 ways to Praise your child……what can you add to it???  I would love to hear how you praise or recognize your child!  Comment below!

encouragement

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Secret “tool” that will improve your kids behavior

  1. nicaudp says:

    Jennifer, I loved this list! You are so right, praise works much better on my kids than constantly pointing out the negative. Many times when my kids are acting out I will ask them, “Do you need a hug?” 9 out of 10 ones the answer is yes! They have rough days just like us and I think we can tend to forget that! Thanks for sharing this over at Titus 2 Tuesday!

    Like

  2. I have seen this be SO true in my home. I have a strong willed one and is always easy to discipline and correct all of his bad behavior and because of that I find it much more challenging to find the good to praise. Then we get into this vicious cycle and I end up in tears more nights after bedtime than I can to count. Then it hits me when I ask myself what am I doing wrong, I forget to praise him. I forget to tell him when he is being good. When I start doing so again, then I see him trying to be good on purpose. It definitely is a cycle for us. But when I purposefully praise him our days are much much better. I need to make it habit!

    Like

    • blessedx8 says:

      It’s definitely something we all as parents can lose sight of. It’s so easy to see the bad behavior and neglect giving them praise. I need to be reminded of this too from time to time!

      Like

  3. Deborah says:

    I love your list, praise is so important.

    Like

Leave a Reply

